5 Books That Have Changed My Life

I love books! A bookaholic you may say. So when I came across the blog topic questioning which ONE book has changed my life, I could not choose just one! So here is a list of all the books that have changed my life in some form or another.

  1. Fabulosity, by Kimora Lee Simmons

I have a sweet spot for biographies especially those of people who have overcome a lot of adversity. I first read this when I was 16 and at that age I was totally obsessed with America’s Next Top Model. Kimora was a judge on the show and mentioned her book so I went to the library and found it! I read it in a few days. Overall this book talks about how to be fabulous, in charge of your life, and still maintain your character. This definitely helped me with my confidence in high school.

  1. The Power of Now, by Eckhart Tolle.

This was the book that got me out of my head and into the moment. As you can tell by the title, and for anyone that has read this book, you know what I am talking about. I have always been one to overthink and overanalyze my feelings, thoughts, and situations. This book helped me quiet the noise inside myself and realize that the moment is now.

  1. Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff and it’s all small stuff, by Richard Carlson.

I found this book at my meditation group among many other self-help and meditation based books. At this time in my life I was getting over some major changes and this book helped me navigate through them in an indirect way. What this book goes over is similar to The Power of Now, it gets you to get out of your head and actually go through practices that can help you.

  1. The Secret, by Rhonda Byrne

Are you surprised? I read this around the same time I read Fabulosity and the realization that I could have anything I wanted just by visualization and asking for it was incredible to 16 year old me. This is when the law of attraction entered my life and I was so into it. I got so many of the things I wanted out of life at the time.

  1. Refuse to Choose, by Barbara Sher

Ok so I am technically still reading this book but it has completely changed my life. What this book is about is identifying personality types that go beyond the normal. These personalities are called scanners, because they go from one subject, hobby or job to another. I was always interested in more than one thing growing up, actually I still am I mean running this blog my youtube channel and a photography page all while working full time, learning French, volunteering, and studying for the LSAT-yeah I have a lot of interests. I always felt super guilty because I was never great at ONE thing but always interested in many things. This book helped me to understand that that is ok. That that is actually a part of my personality and naturally how my brain works. What a relief to have a book tell me this after 25 years of thinking something was wrong with me!

 

Well these are the books that have changed my life! Thank you for reading. RX

Leave a Reply

