My 5 Tips For Managing Your Life!

I have always been a pretty busy person, always taking on projects, always helping others and always saying yes to more work. At a certain point, you burn out. So these are my tips to help you manage your many projects and hobbies and never ending to do lists.

Before hand: Set the scene. Go to a place where you’re not going to be distracted. For me I even set aside a day, Monday (Manage Monday) just to get the week organized. Sometimes I am at home or in my back yard other times I’m at a coffee shop. Do what works best for you.

  1. Brain Drain

First things first you truly need to do a brain drain ESPECIALLY when you are feeling overwhelmed. To do this take a scrap of paper, word document, even a note on your phone and list out all of the things you need to get done, thoughts you have, items to buy, appointments to schedule, people to call-everything.

  1. Next take a breath.

Seriously, and make it a good one! Because now you’re going to look at that list. You can do this next part many different ways but do what works for you. Organize. Sometimes I color code, sometimes I list tasks easiest to hardest, and at times (most of the time) what has the highest priority? What NEEDS to be done right now. Don’t be afraid to leave things for different days, or delegate tasks to others, or even…let things go (gasp!).

  1. Put that plan to work!

Now you have your action plan, so take that plan and work on one task at a time. If a task on your list is more time consuming break it up into smaller parts. The point is to get the ball rolling. Once you are able to say you did something you start feeling better and more motivated to keep going.

  1. Learn to say no.

This has been hard for me to learn because I want to do everything and help everyone but if you don’t set your boundaries somewhere you’ll always be running on empty.  Which leads me to this tip.

  1. Schedule in some time for yourself aka: Treat yo self!

I call this Rikki day lol. It’s just a day in the month where I don’t do anything, I don’t go anywhere, and I just do whatever I want. Self-love and self-care is important to staying balanced in a hectic life.

Well these are my tips for now ❤ Rx

Leave a Reply

